Menu

Cosmetology

Training Program

Credential(s) Offered

Industry certification, Government license

Method of Delivery

In Person

When offered

Daytime Hours, Evening Hours

Instructional Program (CIP)

Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Arts, Other. 120499

Description

Course consists of three portions:

Phase I Freshman: 6 weeks of basic training is confined to theoretical/practical (mannequin) work. Student progress is recorded at all times in personal development, understanding the professional , bacteriology, sanitation/sterilization, salon success, shampooing, scalp treatments, hair cutting, perming and hair design. Phase II Intermediate: 17 weeks (depending on schedule) consist of classes in skin care, manicuring, pedicuring, hair coloring, chemical hair relaxing. Students also work in the clinic of the school applying services to models. Phase III Senior: During the last 23 weeks (depending on schedule) students complete practical and theory assignments and take mock state board exams. Upon completion of 1500 hrs, an affidavit is send to the State Board of Cosmetology to enable the graduate to take the State Board examination. The exam consists of three portions – practical, and theoretical exam of 100 questions, and exam of State Laws. This is typically held once a month by the testing company.

Details

Program Length (Weeks)

47

Hours

1500

Entrance Requirements

High School Diploma or Equivalent

School

Headhunter II School of Hair Design, Inc. d/b/a Spa Tech Institute

WIOA Approved Program

Yes

Training Location(s)

100 Larrabee Road

Local WIB

4 - Coastal Counties Local Area 4

Type of financial aid offered or have access to

Pell,state grant, sallie Mae, VA, etc.

Refund Policy

as per Maine statues

Is the proposed curriculum currently certified by an accrediting agency or similar national standardization program?

Yes - NACCAS, ME Cos/Barbering Licensing

Is this proposed curriculum considered a nontraditional program of training services for women?

No

Is this proposed curriculum considered a nontraditional program of training services for men?

No

Cost Items

Books (Estimated)

$764.88

In-State/District Tuition

$16,350.00

Out-of-State/District Tuition

$16,350.00

Registration Fee

$50.00

Supplies/Materials/Hand Tools (not included in tuition)

$1,203.97

Total In-State Program Cost

$18,368.85

Total Out-of-State Program Cost

$18,368.85

Demand Occupation(s)

39-5012.00Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
$13.79 per hour
Required Certification: Barbering & Cosmetology License

Provider Status

Approved

Address

100 Larrabee Road, Westbrook, Maine 04092

Phone Number

(207) 591-4141

Fax Number

(207) 591-4460

Last Updated

Sep 29, 2020

Created

Aug 03, 2017