at State of Maine, Bureau of Human Resources in Portland, Maine, United States
Children’s Emergency Services Caseworker-PortlandPortland , Maine , United States | Human Services | Full-time Apply by: Aug. 18, 2022 Apply with Linkedin Apply
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)Child Protective Services CaseworkerOpening Date: August 5, 2022Closing Date: August 18, 2022Job Class Code: 5077
Salary: $27.65 – $32.87/hr.* (Employees in this classification begin at Step 3 of the Pay Scale)
- Hourly rate includes a $5.00/hr. stipend, an additional $1.00/hr. stipend is paid for employees possessing a related Master’s Degree. This position is also eligible for a $.35/hr. shift differentialPosition Number: 02000-3958, 02000-3959
Want to make a real difference in the lives of Maine children? The Office of Child and Family Services (OCFS) within DHHS is looking for people committed to protecting the rights and well-being of children by providing professional case management services for our clients throughout the State of Maine. As a Child Protective Services Caseworker, you will develop investigative and case management skills and build extensive contacts within the judicial, law enforcement, educational, and social services communities. If you’re in search of a career that is professionally and personally rewarding, challenging, offers exceptional training and educational opportunities, and supports children and families in Maine, this could be your next career opportunity.
We currently have two (2) full time work from home vacancies in our Portland office. This position’s regular schedule would be 4PM to midnight, and standby midnight to 8AM 5 days per week.
As a Children’s Emergency Services (CES) Caseworker you will:
+ Perform professional social work in the areas of child protection, children’s services, and adoption.
+ Engage families to assess child safety and make plans which best meet the safety, well-being, and permanency needs of their children.
+ Create a team for each family consisting of family, staff, and community resources to support safe solutions for children.
+ Reach factually supported safety decisions in a timely and thorough manner, with input from parents, children, extended family and community stakeholders to assure child safety.
+ child safety, abuse and neglect, and signs of danger;
+ family strengths and capabilities;
+ family functioning;
+ Separate dangerous caregivers from children in need of protection when court action is required to make children safe.
+ Make appropriate plans for children, focusing on their safety needs, preservation of family relationships, reunifying children when appropriate, or achieving a permanent placement in another family if needed.
+ Maintain accurate case records of assessments, activities and plans; summaries; reports; letters and memos.
+ Follow federal and state laws, mandates, policy and timeframes to achieve child safety, well-being and permanency, perform case planning and when needed, petition for protective custody and placement of children
Successful candidates will be:
+ detailed oriented
+ able to effectively manage and meet deadlines.
Work requires regular travel within the geographic area served by a District Office.
Minimum Qualifications:In order to qualify, you must have a Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited education institutions in Social Work/Social Welfare, or a Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited educational institution in a field related to social work/social welfare* as determined by the Maine State Board of Social Work Licensure.
NECESSARY SPECIAL REQUIREMENT: Applicants must have or be eligible for conditional or full licensure at the Licensed Social Worker (LSW) level as issued by the Maine State Board of Social Work Licensure. An LSW requires an earned BA/BS in social work/social welfare. An LSW-Conditional requires an earned BA/BS in a field related to social work/social welfare.
*Chapter 10 of the Maine State Board of Social Worker Licensure regulations defines a field related to social work or social welfare as including but not limited to: “behavioral science, social and behavioral sciences, childhood development, education and human development, mental health and human services, psychology, psychology/educational psychology, rehabilitation services, and sociology.”
The board will consider degrees in other areas on an individual basis. For additional information on degree requirements, contact the Maine Board of Social Work Licensure at (207) 624-8603.
The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is dedicated to promoting health, safety, resilience, and opportunity for Maine people. The Department provides health and social services to approximately a third of the State’s population, including children, families, older Mainers, and individuals with disabilities, mental illness, and substance use disorders. The Department also promotes public health, operates two state psychiatric hospitals, and provides oversight to health care providers. The Office of Child & Family Services (OCFS), within DHHS is responsible for ensuring the safety, permanency and well-being of children and families through community networks, local resources, and life-long family connections throughout Maine.
Please submit all documents or files in a PDF or Word format.
For additional information about this position please contact Lisa Bullard, Recruitment and Retention Specialist at (207) 624-7960 or by e-mail at Lisa.M.Bullard@maine.gov. To apply, please upload a resume and state your degree information as identified in the Minimum Qualifications Section.
To request a paper application, please contact Ashley.Smith@Maine.gov (Ashley.Vigue@Maine.gov) .
BenefitsNo matter where you work across Maine state government, you find employees who embody our state motto-“Dirigo” or “I lead”-as they provide essential services to Mainers every day. We believe in supporting our workforce’s health and wellbeing with a valuable total compensation package, including:
+ Work-Life Balance – Rest is essential. Take time for yourself using 13 paid holidays , 12 days of sick leave , and 3+ weeks of vacation leave annually. Vacation leave accrual increases with years of service, and overtime-exempt employees receive personal leave.
+ Health Insurance Coverage – The State of Maine pays 85%-100% of employee-only premiums ($9,893.52-$11,057.52 annual value), depending on salary. Use this chart to find the premium costs for you and your family, including the percentage of dependent coverage paid by the State.
+ Health Insurance Premium Credit – Participation decreases employee-only premiums by 5%. Visit the Office of Employee Health and Wellness for more information about program requirements .
+ Dental Insurance – The State of Maine pays 100% of employee-only dental premiums ($350.40 annual value).
+ Retirement Plan – The State of Maine contributes 13.16 % of pay to the Maine Public Employees Retirement System (MainePERS), on behalf of the employee.
+ Gym Membership Reimbursement – Improve overall health with regular exercise and receive up to $40 per month to offset this expense.
+ Health and Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts – Set aside money pre-tax to help pay for out-of-pocket health care expenses and/or daycare expenses.
+ Public Service Student Loan Forgiveness – The State of Maine is a qualified employer for this federal program. For more information, visit the Federal Student Aid office .
+ Living Resources Program – Navigate challenging work and life situations with our em